uOttawa Wins Again the Harold G. Fox Intellectual Property Moot

Posted on Thursday, March 2, 2017

Once again, students from the University of Ottawa have won the 2017 Harold G. Fox Intellectual Property Moot championship. The team also received the Gordon F. Henderson prize for best appellant factum and the Harold G. Fox Cup award for best moot team.


The Centre for Law, Technology and Society presents its warmest congratulations to the team! These accolades further enhance the University of Ottawa’s national and international reputation for mooting excellence in general, and in intellectual property law specifically.

Coached by Dr. Tracey Doyle, the team of five was led by Team Captain Jeremy Baarbé, and included Laurent Paulin, Brandon Carter, Adam Soliman, Jenny Thistle.


Laurent Paulin and Brandon Carter were the highest ranked Appellant team after the preliminary rounds where they and argued in front of federal and provincial court judges and IP practitioners.

During the final round, Laurent Paulin and Brandon Carter answered questions from the esteemed bench with grace and confidence. The final round was presided by Justice Côté of the Supreme Court of Canada, alongside Justices Epstein and Feldman of the Ontario Court of Appeal, Justice Gauthier of the Federal Court of Appeal, and the Honourable Mr. Hughes, recently retired from the Federal Court.  As Brandon said, “It was incredible to have argued in front of a Supreme Court justice while only in second year law school.”

The Centre is proud to foster an active learning environment providing such unique experiences to our students! 


The team’s success was only possible because of the generous support of the Ottawa IP bench. Special thanks go to Rideout & Maybee for their sponsorship of the team, to BLG for their continued support of the University of Ottawa’s IP moot program and to the lawyers from Osler and Gowling WLG who provided feedback during team practices. Thanks also goes to the many students, clerks, and professors that helped the team practice.

The team’s success is certainly attributed to their extensive preparation in the Ian G. Scott Courtroom, the University of Ottawa Common Law Section’s fully-functioning courtroom constructed inside the Faculty of Law.


The team would like to congratulate the University of Alberta for winning the DLA Piper award for best mooter and the University of Toronto respondent team for winning the Donald F. Sim award for best oral advocate. 

Back to top